top of page

Flower petals and herbal salts...

I have already written a bit about bath tea bags and their uses, since writing this I have had the opportunity to experiment further with combinations of salts and scents, having found some chamomile petals it was hard not to have a go! As you can see from the picture they look beautiful in the mixture, adding a touch of calm to the mix and a golden yellow running through the mix of pink himalayan and epsom salts.

Using dried petals can bring a wealth of different benefits, such as fragrance, colours and some therapeutic effects.

Roses are known for their high Vitamin C content (great for controlling those pesky free radicals) and can be harvested and consumed in tea form thus making it ideal not only for drinking but using to create face masks and other products.

Lavender has a whole host of different uses such as antiseptic, calming and sedative properties which can be used to complement a balanced and healthy lifestyle, it can also help you address the imbalances in your life.

Chamomile is a fabulous skincare herb and is suitable for all skin types. As it is so strongly anti-inflammatory, it is particularly suited to sensitive skins that are prone to inflammation.

I first started using pre-blended tea bags for 'spicing up' my face masks but always wanted to have a go with some of my own homemade. Having done some research it became clear that dried flowers and petals will become a staple item on my stock list, but which to choose? There are so many combinations it would be expensive to have everything to hand. It was time to look to nature for guidance, a walk in the garden showed me that lavender & roses seemed most practical and readily available. Gathering petals means I can now dry them so that they can be stored and used in the future (otherwise they will discolour and breakdown). I could of course just buy pre-dried petals and flowers and indeed lavender flowers (I would need my own fields to keep up) are readily available through the internet and for practical reasons it makes sense to make life a little easier on myself, it's surprising how far these things go!

Its not just the petals themselves that inspire but the colours of the different flowers, for me a rainbow of colour is a joy to the senses and if it can be harnessed then that can only be a good thing in my mind.

As I always say if you would like some guidance please send me an email or find me on Facebook or Twitter

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page